Obsessively Obsessed: Steven Universe

It’s inevitable when you’re a nerd, isn’t it? You either get recommended some show, or game, or TCG or book and you just can’t get enough of it. Or, you watched something as a kid, never stopped loving it, or started watching it again when you were an adult. I know when I’m stressed, I go back to watching Sailor Moon – in fact, about time I whipped out my Viz DVDs for some quality time with my girls. That’s the thing, too, if you love a show or game that much, it becomes a part of you, and you are glad for it. When you truly love something, like, to the point where you can’t get enough of it, eat, drink, and sleep that thing, research plot points and characters after finishing the show only to see new facets of the characters, re-watch, and go “Aha! That’s when that turning point happened” that, my loves, is when you are what I like to call obsessively obsessed.

Do you regret being this into your shows?

Nope!

I seriously hope I’m not the only one who does this, but when I start watching a show I love, I get super, super into it if I like it. Like, it’s peeling an onion, and no matter how many times you go back to the show, any media concerning the show, or re-watch the show, it’s forever enjoyable. This is what Sailor moon is to me, and as of right now, another show has entered the ranks of obsessively obsessed.

That show is…

Steven Universe AHHHHH!

I’ll admit, didn’t like this show at all when I first watched it awhile back : I thought it was weird, and didn’t quite get the characters and plot because it seemed to just throw you into the middle of a story. I’m usually not a fan of reverse-narration. I like seeing the story from beginning to end, some flashbacks thrown in there, you know the drill. But after reading on my Facebook feed that Steven Universe is awesome and takes a really dark turn later on, followed by some friends saying they watched the first season fully and loved it, I decided to give it another try. So after a week of marathonning the show with said friends AHHHHHH!

I haven’t watched such a heartfelt, intricately-woven storyline that can both leave you laughing out loud and balling your eyes out in the same episode. I’ve never seen such a fun-loveing character have so much weight and depth to them, and be so perfectly written. I’ve never loved each, and every character, supporting, minor, or incidental, no matter what role they play. Sure, you dislike some characters, but not because they are poorly written or a cliché. More because, if you met that character in real life, you wouldn’t be friends with them, but you still understand where their coming from. Even if you don’t like a character from the get go, they grow on you, or they grow developmentally so that you like who they’ve become. And honestly? I’m shocked that this sort of care and depth has been brought to a cartoon that not only isn’t anime, but that is on Cartoon Network!

When I was A kid, we had these types of shows on Cartoon Network, and Nickelodeon. I’m a 90s Nick gal, and grew up with the good Doug and Rugrats and what I like to call the golden era of cartoons. Around the mid 2000s, I stopped watching both Nick and CN, because the cartoons just weren’t what they used to be. But now? Steven Universe has me hooked. I freaking adore this show, could write entire novels about its glory, will be dissecting the characters (Crystal Gems are so amazing!) and will continue to be an avid watcher of this show I love so much.

Oh, and I forgot: The music is amazing! How did I forget that? I should slap myself!

I could say so, so much more about the glory that is this show, but alas, I must get my thought’s in order to do so. Right now I’m still in the mind-boggled ayaaaa this show is amazing asdfdsa phase of being obsessively obsessed 😄

I will be doing a series of posts on this show, definitely. Like I said above, I want to do a character study on each of the main characters – aka, Garnet, Amethyst, and Pearl, and Steven!. I’m a writer, so character development, and really analyzing motives of a well-written character, is something I love to do in my free time. If you like reading fan theories and adding them to your fandom base, then stick around!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

