Sailor Moon R Makai Tree arc Viz dub review

April 10th was Viz’s Moonlight Party 3, for a few episodes of Sailor Moon R. I had the pleasure of going – my first one, in fact – and had a blast! I highly recommend doing the next one, it’s fun to be around so many Sailor Moon fans, and hanging out with the Viz crew was a blast. They really interact with the fans via Twitter and Facebook, and it’s just amazing to feel the love for the series all across the world.

After the Moonlight Party, Hulu released the redubs of the first 14 episodes of Sailor Moon R. Aka: The filler arc with Ail and En. I have never liked this arc, like, at all. Dic’s dub was so bad, made the villains soooo annoying. The Senshi getting their power up episodes seemed so forced and blech and had no character development what-so-ever, and I always remember as a kid hating when the Makai Tree arc, or what I remember as “The Doom Tree arc” would air on Cartoon Network. Worst two weeks, ever!

But we’re not here to talk about the Dic dub, this is a review about the redub done by Viz. Honestly, I can’t express how much I adore this dub! Ail and En were really funny characters, with a lot of depth and heart to them not visible in the Dic dub. I have to applaud the voice actors for both of them – They did a wonderful job of being really vicious, and yet really innocent when they weren’t in their alien personas. The episodes where the Senshi got their power ups were really good and developing the characters of the Senshi, instead of just being like “Oh…we need to give them a power up? Ok” I felt the growth from each character.

And, I really, really have to praise how Usagi and Mamoru’s relationship was handled in this. I legit was tearing up in the end when they were reaching for each other – another star moment for me with the voice acting. One thing I really love about this localization is it doesn’t pull any punches: Like, it feels like a straight up Japanese to English translation. Seeing the subs, and hearing the English voice track, it sticks so true to the original and I couldn’t be happier for that. Thank you, Viz for doing a great job with a show so many of us love.

I didn’t like this arc in the Dic dub, but now? I really love it! It’s still not on the tops of my favorite seasons, but it’s redeemed itself with this redub. I highly recommend it!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

