The Horrible Truth

Epiphany time…

It’s a horrible horrible truth to bare…but…

I have realized I can’t do anything without scheduling WHYYYY.

Like I procrastinate so much unless I put in my mind “Thursday I need to do ___ at 5 PM” or “Every day at 2 PM I will practice for 20 minutes” and I wish I wasn’t that way but it’s the only way I get things done without putting them off. If I have a schedule, I feel guilty for not following it and then just do whatever I had planned for the day. I feel like this isn’t exactly healthy…but it works!

I’m one of those vague schedulers though. Some things I can say “Practice singing at 2 PM for 20 minutes” but most other things I just have to say I’ll do it sometime in the day and it gets done. The two things that are the hardest for me to do on a consistent basis are recording, may it be voice over auditions, songs or lines for projects I’m in, or writing, may it be blog posts, scripts, or novel fiction. Those are the two things I’m struggling with working in right now. So I’m thinking pick one day for one of those things, and one for the other? But it’s hard for me to pick which day to do what activity hrmm. And that isn’t even including other stuff I like to do…

I’m really at a loss as to what to do here, guys. If you have any ideas please post in the comments! Should I just stop thinking so hard about this and do the things I’ve been putting off? Pick certain days to do said things? Stop asking so many questions?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “The Horrible Truth”

  1. Schedule the things you like to do that don’t conflict with you too much, so you can ensure a nice lineup of activities. When it comes to the hard stuff, I’d say just grit your teeth and do it, in my experience even scheduling can be an excuse to put it off. It just has to be tried, no matter the fear or anxiety involved. Do it now and the next time it’ll get a little easier. Then a little more, and a bit more, and a bit more, until it’s something comfortable enough you can schedule like everything else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

