Hot Sauce Heaven

I have never been a huge fan of hot things – I’ve found that a lot of Americanized hot foods just throw a ton of spice onto the dish with no flavor to the heat of the food what-so-ever. Just makes a super-hot irritating party in my mouth of nothing but hot hot hot uuuugh make it stop!

Recently, through knowing someone obsessed with all things spicy (heck, I don’t think a ghost pepper could slow her down) I’ve been trying hot sauce on different things. Not gonna lie, she says she cooks with a lot of hot spices and I really wanna be able to eat her food and that’s how this all started 😄 but I’ve also found myself liking the different hot sauces I’ve been trying, which is a shocker to even me!

I figured out what my problem was with hot foods I’ve tried in the past, though: Like I said, all spice no flavor. But I love when a hot sauce has some other flavors added to it – may it be sweet so it’s like spicy barbeque sauce, or sour and citrusy so it tastes awesome on fish and chicken. Recently I bought this Mexican hot sauce that’s so delicious and I’ve been sticking it on everything. Man, it’s so amazing! It’s like sweet, sour, and has a kick to it and really adds to the flavor of whatever you’re putting it on. I put it on chicken and it made it taste like a buffalo wing (which I have been craving for months now so that totally worked out) and on fish it adds a lemony-hot kick that is sooo delish!

I am looking at other hot sauces – there’s this mango one I really want to try because I adore eating mango anything. Just looking at different sauces is so fascinating to me, and I really want to start collecting some to use on different meals. One thing I’ve also noticed, is that it helps me feel a lot better! My nose isn’t as clogged as it usually is and when I sing I feel like I have a clearer passage for my air to flow (though of course I don’t sing directly after eating hot sauce, that’s maaadness!).

I’m really enjoying exploring this new world of foodie territory and can’t wait to actually cook some dishes and use this hot sauce as a base! Do you have any good hot sauces to recommend trying on the more milder side? Or recipes involving a good hot sauce as a base?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

