Eurovision 2015 Final Thoughts and Reactions

This is just going to be a rambly excited thing because this was the first year that I ever watched Eurovision all the way through and it was so fun ayaaah. I know this isn’t normally a day when I post, but I am just so excited I had to write!

Eurovision Song Contest 2015 finished about an hour ago after a week of amazing songs, great diversity, and tons of fun. Vienna, Austria was the stage for this amazing event, and although I wasn’t there it truly felt like it as I watched the live stream. I’m a US citizen, so it was really nice seeing how free and accepting Europe in general is of everyone and everything no matter who you are or where you’re from: the love and support just oozed out of the screen, and it was truly inspirational to watch. As a singer, it was really interesting to see what was popular stylistically in other countries, and honestly, it’s the type of music I’m into and love to sing! It was so refreshing to see that a genre that may not be popular at all in the states has a following in European countries, and it really got me geared up to stop worrying so much about what I sing, and just to sing what I love and enjoy the moment and perform my heart out.

I was rooting for Spain all week, but there were so many good songs that even if Spain didn’t win, I would’ve been happy with them winning. I had two dark horses in the contest that I simply adored: Sweden, and Serbia. Both songs had amazing messages of just being happy with who you are, but I feel Sweden’s message went a bit deeper – that your worst enemy is you, and to stop fighting who you are and just ignore all the voices in your mind and strive for success. I guess it drove home for a lot more people as well, because Sweden won and I couldn’t be happier! Russia was a close second, and their singer was just so sincere and heartfelt. It was so adorable to watch her reaction as Russia racked up the votes in the first half of the results show. But bam, Sweden for a come from behind win!

Watching Eurovision was such an eye-opening experience. I’ve always loved Europe, but I’ve never wanted to travel to it more than I have now. The theme of the contest this year was building bridges, and if you watched the show you really, really felt that message was driven home beautifully.

If you want to listen to the songs, or watch the competition, go to the Eurovision channel on youtube! The press conference is on right now, so gotta go watch that 😄 Congrats Sweden, you rock!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

