Relaxation Matters

Not the lying in bed all morning until you finally tell yourself “Oh, I should probably get up” type of relaxation, though that is very nice and one thing I can’t live without every once and awhile. I’ve noticed how important it is, however, to just be relaxed in general no matter what you’re doing. For me, before I warm up my voice, I make sure my body is relaxed, muscles all shaken out so I feel no tenseness in any part of my body. It doesn’t even have to be some rough and tough exercise – I literally just jump up and down and wiggle my arms and legs and torso until I feel like I’m loose enough to use all of my body to sing properly. And hey, if singing Shake it Off in your head is something you also like to do, more power to ya!

I didn’t always do this. I used to just go into my room and start singing. After a few weeks of feeling a lot of tenseness in my throat, and then going to my coach and him saying “Have you been practicing?” I realized I was doing something wrong herpaderp. When he said that I was like “…Yes?” and it was really an eye-opener to making sure I wasn’t doing anything to hurt my vocal cords. Enter the google research!

I am a huge researcher, and looking up tips here and there, watching a few you tube videos and pairing that with my coaches amazing advice, I realized how important relaxation was to my vocal health. Wowie what a difference! The next performance I had was a vast improvement to the vocal pains and strains I had been having in the past! Now I continue doing those certain shake-it-outs, along with other things that I do to stay in tip top vocal condition!

What do you do to relax and refocus?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

