A Major Wake Up Call

There comes a time in your life where something happens that makes you have a huge reality check. That makes you go, “Is this really going to be the rest of my life? I should change this” and for me, that happened last week. I won’t go into too much detail, but it was something financial and it affected me so much that I didn’t think I was going to make my rent. Now, I am making changes, right now in my life that I have been liking and keeping, but like…this is something I’ve been working on, kind of slacking on but working on nevertheless, and this financial scare just really woke me up.

Was this going to be the rest of my life? Not having anything saved for a rainy day fund in case this stream of income I depend on doesn’t come through? Not working on my career, my business ideas, and just surviving, not thriving for the rest of my life? I saw a glimpse of what my life would be if I kept on slacking, not making any monetary changes, and it was not a pleasant one. I need to change sooner, rather than later, and I just thank God he got me through this hardship in one piece.

When I got back from dealing with everything, I was seeing things in a new light. Seeing the people on the streets, just seeming so sad and struggling so much and it was like, really weird seeing it all from a different perspective. But it was also, another sort of wake up call: I wasn’t going to be this, not anymore! I’m not going to put myself through this hell, I’m going to make money no matter what it takes: The amount I want so I live as comfortably as I desire. I’m going to make myself happy with what I do, and work the ways that I already know work at making money to do so. I’m gonna stop sitting on my butt, and go out there and build my income, save, and live life to the fullest! Raaawr!

I want to travel, I want to experience so many things…and simply surviving isn’t going to cut it for me anymore. I deserve better, and I’m going to fight until I get it!

So all in all, now that this crisis is over, I’m glad I got this wake up call. Sometimes, you don’t change your life any other way, right?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

