The Top Four Things You Don’t Want to Hear When You’re Troubleshooting an Installed Computer Program

You know them, you’ve heard them anytime you’ve ever been troubleshooting a computer program you’ve recently installed, or that you’ve had installed but isn’t working. Heck, you’ve probably even said these things at one point in your life. Are they helpful? Nope! They are just really, really annoying to hear, because they are common sense to anyone who has ever owned a computer. And yet, the human species feels it is very important to tell you to do these four things when you’ve asked for a specific troubleshooting question. What are they?

1. “Did you try restarting your computer?”

Of course I did! That’s the first thing I did after installing this thing. In fact, the program told me to restart right after it was installed, so yes, yes I restarted the stupid computer!

2. “Did you check to see if your drivers are up to date?”

Ok, this one isn’t as annoying because it is something that may slip your mind. But still, the installed program usually checks to see if your drivers are up to date, and will tell you if something isn’t when you are trying to run it. Or, your computer will be updated just because it likes to do that stupid shutting off when you are in the middle of doing something important thing.

3. “Call support, or live chat, or google the answer!”

Yeah, cuz I didn’t try that before I asked my social networks for help? Because I didn’t say “I tried to Google the answer and found nothing” in my post? Of course I Googled! If I’m coming to my Facebook, or Twitter, for help, it’s because I’ve been looking for an answer I can’t find and am trying to ask someone who could help me with more streamlined info than google, or some live chat support person will give me. And with my experience with live chat, the IT customer service will be giving me the same, annoying answers you are giving me!

4. “Maybe your sound card is messing up? Maybe your graphics card is messing up? Try updating it!”

Siiiigh. I use my sound card all day, every day. I’d know if it wasn’t working. I’m sure a sighted person would be just as annoyed with a graphics card question: You notice pretty quickly if these things are amiss on your computer!

This rant is brought to you by Pro Tools First! I was working on installing it this weekend, took 3 hours to just download the installer, and after I downloaded the installer had to have my Mom read everything to just install it. After that, the program didn’t even open and said I need to pick another sound driver, and still haven’t found how to do that. After help from an actual uh, helpful person, still no go. I am not surprised, but very bummed that Pro Tools still isn’t accessible on a PC. On Macs, it has Voice over support, but I don’t have a Mac, and won’t anytime soon. I mean, is it hard for you to make it accessible on PC too? Work with the NVDA developers maybe, because it’s donateware? Ugh. I have been looking forward to Pro Tools First all year, and I guess I shouldn’t have kept my hopes up with it even being remotely accessible on PC. I have an audio friend who says that it’s hard to use on their PC too, so like…why even offer it on PC if you don’t want it (or make it very difficult to use) on a Windows OS? Splaaaarg!

I plan to get a Mac, so I am just trying to be positive and tell myself “Well at least when I get a Macbook, I will have a free version of Pro Tools to work with” But like…aruuuug nevertheless 😄 I am curious to see if Pro Tools First is accessible on Voice over, however, so will be looking that up!

That felt good to get off my chest XDD Have you ever had any installer issues, and been annoyed at your friends who mean well with these Troubleshooting tips?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

