YouTube Growing Pains

Deciding to start uploading covers on YouTube and promoting my channel has been really interesting the past month or so. I originally had planned to just make it for a central place to have all of my live performance videos, and put all of them up there, but then I was like “I also do recording and fully mixed covers, so why not post them there?” hense, doing so once a week came to be! It’s honestly been really fun keeping on this schedule, and fun recording and having people listen, no matter how little my viewership is currently!

But what have I learned so far? YouTube marketing is a lot different than business marketing! Well, let me take that back: It is and it isn’t, but the differences in YouTube marketing are really interesting and more…tech modern than doing so for a business. I’ve learned that having a banner, and avatar are important to show your viewers that your channel is both active, and to make sure it looks interesting enough to listen and watch. I haven’t gotten to this point yet, but I want to start doing music videos for songs, or some sort of video editing instead of just posting a picture – because also, what I’ve learned, is that people will keep their attention on something moving more than just a stagnant picture. Sounds obvious, I know, but as a blindy it never crossed my mind! I’m a little nervous about putting my face on a YouTube video, but I will eventually to get more visually eye-catching videos.

Thumbnails matter! Which, I didn’t really think that, either. I…am not sure who I will ask to make thumbnails for me, because I sure can’t, but once again a step that I will hopefully take in the near future! It’s a little daunting to me, and I am not one to ask for help…but I know for these visual aspects of YouTube, I’ll need to reach out and ask for assistance. But, then again, seeing how much time and effort it takes to do the visual aspects, as much as the audio, I’d rather pass that task onto someone far more knowledgeable on the subject.

All in all, so far YouTube has been a really enjoyable experience, both participating in the community via comments, and posting. It’s definitely something I am looking forward to growing, and continuing to do, so hurray!

Basically, I want my video’s to go from this

To this!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

