Singing Practice Session Obvservations

Singing coaching is great, but what do you have to do in-between sessions? Keep at it and stay focused on keeping your technique up to par. It’s difficult sometimes: Keeping everything coordinated, both in your head and with your body so every singing muscle is working together, and it’s something I’ve struggled with throughout my lifetime. Feeling tenseness in your throat? Your throat hurting after practice? Then you’re probably using some section of your vocal cords or body muscles not to their fullest potential. I’m not saying these tips will help everyone, but I just find it interesting how my body is working these past few weeks with my vocal warmup sessions. Before, I would feel minor throat strain, and was trying to get that out hardcore. But now? None at all, and the ease at which I’m switching registers, and flowing from note to note honestly has been astounding to me and I do notice I’m doing different things than usual! Here’s the differing things I’ve noticed myself doing, as opposed to beforehand:

– The first thing I noticed (well two things I noticed at the same time but this one was more apparent to me because I didn’t do it at all before) was, movement! Not just like, shaking your body out before singing, and then standing in place while singing but like, moving while singing. I like to sway back and forth just as a discharging of energy, and doing it while singing, with my feet firm on the ground really helps me focus, and keep every other part of my body and my cords focused on keeping my technique proper. It also helps me be less nervous about hitting certain notes, and not tense up as much. I am really self-conscious about moving on stage for some reason, and really want to get over that, because it helps me so much!
– The second thing that helps me tons is a little hard to explain, but here goes! Every singing video, or teacher, has always told me to keep your throat open so the sound of your vocals will be fuller, and your cords won’t strain. I’ve found that, just keeping all of your resonant space in your throat and facial area open does wonders! Like, keep the top, softer part of the roof of your mouth open, as well as your throat. What that does for me is like, instead of when you hit a higher note, and opening up that softer section when you hit it, keeping all passages open at all times just gives the sound easy access to the places it needs to go, and gives a more cohesive, fuller sound then trying to transition with one section of your singing passage open, and one closed. Man I hope that made sense haha.
– Diaphragm support is a no brainer, but using the muscles above your diaphragm to sort of keep the air in there when you need to has been helping me a lot with breath support issues I’ve had in the past. It also makes me feel like I’ve had a cardio work out, so win-win! Still gotta start a workout program though T_T
– When I’m worried I am doing the wrong technique, I use these weird quirks to make sure I am doing the right ones: If I feel like yawning, or do yawn, then that’s good! It means that I’m keeping my throat open wide enough. If I feel my sinuses clearing in my nose after a certain warmup, I know I’m resonating in the right places 😄 and hey, clearing sinuses is always great! Lastly, and most importantly, if I feel no vocal cord/throat strain, I know that my throat is both open wide enough, and that I am resonating in the right places. Feeling a buzzing in my forehead, sometimes the nose, and in the vocal cords also helps me with that.
– I like to visualize my resonant spots as holes which sounds….weird I know haha. But like, I like to imagine the bottom of my throat as this giant black hole that my voice needs to be sucked into to sound right, and I imagine my nasal-soft pallet area as this like, tunnel a car has to drive down and my voice as a wind tunnel going through it. It’s both fun, and helpful!

I think that’s about it! But yeah, I find it really cool how like, you can use all of these tricks to get a nicer sound from your voice, and keep up with making sure you have proper vocal technique. May not work for everyone, but works for me!

What about you singers? Do you have any wacky but workable vocal tricks?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

