A New Challenger Emerges! Video Editing Blind?

I have been so curious about this and have found no answers via google, which was surprising to me. But, I’ve been wondering: Is it possible to do video editing without seeing the footage? I do just use a picture and copypaste it throughout my songs, but I am wondering like…would I be able to take footage from say, a movie or TV show, and use it with the effects of Movie Maker? And section frames off into different parts of the screen, use brightening and different effects on Movie maker, that sort of thing. Of course you’d have to have a sighted person look over your work, but is it possible to play the clip by ear in a sense? Use the audio queues of the clips to at least know where the clip is playing/where the frame is placed, manipulate it, and then mute the sound of what you don’t want heard so your music can play over it?

I haven’t seen any blind forums or anything talking about attempting this, so I figure, I shall try it! For science! I don’t know why I have the urge to even attempt video editing, but hey if I can do it without seeing, it’d be cool to know that I can right? I still wouldn’t a lot because I know people who do a far better job than I, but windows movie maker is already fairly accessible, so I feel if I could do it in any program, it would be that one!

I’ll be keeping you guys updated on my progress! This is going to be a fun little project 😄

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

