Working on Original Songs – Growing Pains

I’ve been working on original songs for an EP lately, and it’s been tons of fun! I’ve never felt happier just writing, working out melodies, and mixing my own creations. Honestly, I’ve learned so much just from mixing these three songs than I ever have mixing a cover – just having to wing it so to speak, and try and get the sound you wanted for each track, each vocal line is really challenging and invigorating in a way I didn’t think was possible! I have three out of four songs completed, and am aiming to release this before August is out woooo.

This journey hasn’t been flawless, in fact, it’s been a decently bumpy road. But luckily, I have awesome friends and family to help me with mixing advice. But, have you ever just hit a bump that has been difficult to hop over? This last song I have been working on has been that for me.

I wrote out the lyrics for all of my songs first. For me, that and coming up with the basic melody was the easy part for all…but this final song 😄 I have been fighting with placing these lyrics in a certain melody. I know the feeling I want to invoke with this particular song, but every melody or arrangement I can think of just doesn’t cut it. I really want this chaotic, raw feeling to this one, and no matter how much I look up different styles and try to rearrange, it just isn’t working.

Last night I realized: It’s not a big deal if I don’t use these specific lyrics! I was hashing out another melody last night while I was trying to sleep (as my brain likes to do oh-too-often) and I was just thinking “I…just may have to use these lyrics for something else and write new ones”. It’s a bit of a sad realization because I really like the lyrics and wanted to use them now, but honestly I just don’t think they will work for any melodies I can think of currently, and just trying to force this song working is both stifling my creativity and beating my head against the wall. Is there anything wrong with scrapping a song and moving onto creating something new? I thought it was for the longest time but now…I realize that no, it’s ok to have those lyrics on standby until I can give them the structure and arrangement they deserve. It’s ok for me to work on something else, put it on this EP, and use these for something else down the road.

It’s so interesting to me the things that I’ve been learning in these past few months just working on these. I am excited to take what I learned forward, when I start working on other things. It’s been a blast, and I don’t want this creative streak to go away anytime soon!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

