Song Progress

Remember that song I was talking about in Tuesday’s post? The one that was hard to find a melody for? Well, last night, I just decided to sit down and hash this thing out. Me vs. lyrics, here we go! Though honestly, if I didn’t already have a general idea for this song I would have left it be like I said I would on Tuesday. But I am half stubborn, half “What else am I going to use this melody for?” with what I’m working on now, and I am fairly happy with my end result.

Will I be when I go to mix it? We’ll see! I wound up only using a fraction of the lyrics I had written and I really liked how it turned out last night pre-mix. That usually doesn’t happen for me: I always think a song is meh until I go to mix it, so fingers crossed that this is a good sign! I…am a little nervous it won’t fit with the other songs on the EP, but as I said we’ll see after the mix. I mean, we are all our worst critics, right? So maybe after I show it to someone else I won’t be so critical of it (that happens a lot XD).

I was excited to just…get something recorded. Even if this doesn’t pan out with these lyrics, I have a backing track I can add to and build on for something else. So all in all, last night was a very productive recording night! Now off to mix!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

