Frustrations Lead to Life Lessons

This weekend has been a very audio mixing filled one. I mixed the first episode of my radioplay – which was a challenge in itself, but I got it done and it’s now up for listening so hurray! Then, I moved onto remixing the final original I was working on that I was talking about last week and…that one wasn’t so easy to fix 😄

I think, this was the most challenging thing I had done. I had to bounce it off some friends a few times because my ears just weren’t hearing it the way theirs were – which happens a lot. But I really wanted this specific feel to it and it just wasn’t coming across the way I wanted it to. Honestly, I got uber frustrated, and had to step away from the mix for a few days. In enters both feeling mopy all weekend, and mixing my radioplay instead. After mixing some of the scenes for that (which were a challenge all their own, but that will be for another post) I felt a bit less discouraged over mixing in general and went back to the song. I’m glad I took that break, because what a difference taking two days off from hearing that thing did! My ears felt like they were hearing it for the first time, and I was able to fix what was wrong with it with fresh perspective. So, as of yesterday, the final song of my little original song project is done, Wooooo!!!

This project taught me a lot of important lessons. I usually just power through doing well, anything, and having to step back, be patient, and re-tackle a problem is not part of my nature at all and to say that it was frustrating, is an understatement. I really had to like, take deep breaths, step back and just force myself to not think about that song – which was far easier said than done lol. Tis why I had to keep my hands busy with mixing my radioplay, methinks.

I’ve learned so much from doing this project about myself, and about mixing. I decided to do this EP on a semi-whim – an idea just struck me, and I had the urge to do it with whatever means I had available to me, which is also something I’ve never done before (I’m usually like I need to get this so I can do this!). But with this project, I’ve learned that it’s ok to work with what you have, to make mistakes, and to fix said mistakes to get a nice end result for a song. And hey, it was tons of fun – no matter how frustrating some bits of it were!

What’s my next step? Why, tweeking some vocals on a few originals, of course! After that I will work on getting them released, EEEE I couldn’t be more excited! I shall keep you all posted on my progress as always 😉

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

