Mana Aeliria Skype Direction session Final Thoughts

Awhile back I mentioned I auditioned for a project in which I would be singing the theme song to a video game. Well, a few weeks later, I met with the game developers in a skype call so we could pretty much touch base with each other and talk about how they wanted the dynamics of the song and stuff to go. I’ll be honest, I was super, super nervous about doing this: I had never done anything like this before, and just the thought of being in a skype call with someone and having them hear me sing live was really intimidating (I don’t know why, because I sing live all the time anyways).

I was afraid for nothing! The experience was really chill and fun, and after the first few minutes where my nerves got a hold of me and hindered my singing a bit, I eased into it. After that initial point, and just being in the call and having some time to just uh, I guess talk to the developers for a while, all that fear and trepidation was gone. We hashed out all the stuff that needed to be hashed out, and now I can go on and record the song and I’m not afraid to bounce things off of these guys anymore because hey, the experience was fun and not at all scary once it got going! The skype directing thing was a huge reason why I didn’t want to audition for higher end projects: it was an unnecessary fear that really just stalled me in my tracks. I’m so glad I went for this though – and am glad that well, they didn’t post in the audition thread that they wanted to do a skype call, because then I might have not gone for it haha. But yeah, now that this step is done, onto recording the first version of the theme song! EEEE so excited to do this!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

