Singing Technique Interspections

I’ve been doing two practice sessions a day as of late – I used to do two, but went down to doing one because two of the particular technique used to wreak havoc on my throat. I was a bit worried that I was hurting my cords, hense dropping it down to one 20 minute session a day. Recently, however, like I said earlier, I’ve been doing 2 sessions of practice because well, my Mom wanted me to lol. So at night, I’ve been practicing with operatic technique, and then I practice with a technique called speech level singing (SPL). I’ve read a lot about combining techniques for varied results, and just didn’t realize how much of a difference it did make. Like, I’m able to hit higher notes than I used to with operatic technique, and yet when I can’t hit a note properly with operatic technique, I can switch to SPL and make it sound fuller and smoother. It’s really interesting to me, because for so long I was like “I only need one technique ugh” when I’ve red in other places that SPL is good for certain genres, while classical or opera technique can be used for other genres. It’s useful to have both, and it’s actually been pretty fun to work on perfecting both (though I will never admit that lolol).

What about you: are there multiple singing techniques you like to use, and if so what? What techniques have been difficult for you to master? Post in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

