The Worst Kind of Writers Block

You’re onto something, you know it. It’s vague, it’s on the brink of becoming something interesting you can sink your teeth into, and the plot bunnies are just hopping all around in your noggin. So what do you do next? Write an outline, of course! And once you put pen to paper, or finger to key the ideas just start pouring out. Before you know it, your vague plot bunny has become a full-fledged plot forest full of singing Princesses and woodland creatures woooo.

You still don’t quite have eeeeverything worked out: The character bios need a bit more fleshing out – in fact, they need a lot of fleshing out because mainly you just have your major setting, plot, conflict and resolution all setup. But you figure, whatever! I’ll just start writing and the characters will write themselves!

…Haha…hahahaha….haaaa….

Nope! You rewrite scenes over, and over again, just trying to lay out one thing dialogue-wise so you have a stepping stone to another scene, and hope that the characters will come alive somehow. I’ve read that works, in fact, a few writing friends said that’s how they do it, but that just doesn’t work for me. I’ve been stuck on this idea I am just right on the edge of starting and the one thing stumping me is good characters, that can make good dialogue. Also, a good way to get the ball rolling on this stupid thing! No no not stupid I love you plot bunny don’t leave meee.

I was hoping that writing this post would get me out of my writers block in this phase of my plotting, and it sort of did! Right when I got to the bad characters part of this, I realized “Derp! I have character development sheets!” so I will go fill some of those out for my central characters and see if that helps me at all. Though, I also think I need a more…hmm, less cliché plot? Right now it’s very Supernatural meets Georgina Kincaid series and I want it to be a lot more than…paranormal monster of the week type of stuff. Back to the drawing board, I suppose! Well, only partially: I do have a lot of ideas written out on a word document I can add to, so hopefully I can make something cohesive out of that chunk of plot progression outline I’ve written down so far!

But for now, onto character biography making! Weeee~

Have any good ways to break out of writers block? Or websites for writers, too, I love those. Link or say so in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

1 thought on “The Worst Kind of Writers Block”

Leave a Reply

