Being Scatter Brained isn’t Necessarily a Bad Thing

This is usually how a day goes for me:

I’m on my computer, and I have to write a blog post, mix, write a script, look at songs, mix a scene I will be so productive today!
-4 Hours later-
I got sooo much done today woooo now I’m – craaap I forgot to write the blog post ayaaaah D:

That is what happened to me yesterday so I apologize for the day late post. But literally I log onto my computer, say I’m going to start with say, writing the blog post, because I’m going to forget once I get the ball rolling with other things. I know that will be the case, because for me in particular, because I just…am a scatterbrain. I’m not ashamed to admit it: I have a great, long term memory, but a terrible short term one. Is this a bad thing? I say, no. I mean, if you know how to manage and use your scatter brained-ness to your advantage, it’s a powerful tool: For me, it equals remembering to do something, getting laser focused on it and completely forgetting what else I wanted to do that day. It comes and goes during the day, and is why I tend to either get either nothing or everything accomplished that I want to do.

This goes a long with something I’ve mentioned before: Be very aware of what you can and can’t do, your flaws and positive traits. Doing so lets you be able to utilize both the good, and the bad things you tend to do for good results. Sure, I’m scatterbrained, but because I’m scatterbrained I outlined the plot for another radio play, wrote some lyrics to another original song, plotted out some more outlines for other songs, mixed a radio play scene, recorded a song, and recorded parts for a collaboration I’m participating in. Why did all of this happen yesterday? Because I kept on keeping on – when I finished one task, my brain instantly lit up with the next thing I had to do and I went to do it (call it a combination of being scatter brained and a bit obsessive lol). I wouldn’t be able to do this if I wasn’t well, me, so I guess I wouldn’t have it any other way 😀

So yeah, in a nutshell, this is why this post is going up today instead of yesterday. And hey, I’m writing it first thing instead of saying I will and then going off to do something else and forgetting, so I guess that’s progress, woo! Next week my post will go up on Thursday, as planned, but what can I say? I’m glad I got so much done yesterday and am still getting this done even if it’s a day late – the day I just skip a posting day will be a day I do not want to happen!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

