Stretching Your Creative Muscle

A few weeks ago, I heard something really interesting. I’m unfortunately not sure what it was from, because it was something my Mom was watching while I was in the room, but it was a keynote speaker talking about the different ways to be successful in business. One of the things he said that stuck with me was this (and I am paraphrasing):

Stretch your creative muscle every day. Come up with ideas constantly. Try to come up with ten ideas a day so you continue to stretch your creative muscle, and come up with more ideas you can solve.

I haven’t actively been pushing myself to come up with ten ideas a day, but hearing this struck a chord with me for another reason. I’ve been writing a lot recently, both stories and lyrics (which well, my lyrics are stories more or less so same dif) and I notice I am coming up with more ideas as I work on these ideas. My usual idea creation spot is…laying in my bed XD so I tend to keep my computer on my bed with me, and when an idea strike’s I write it down on a word document. I did this the other day, with a story outline for another radioplay series I’d like to flesh out more character-wise, but have the plot down. It doesn’t just end at me coming up with new ideas: I’ve been pushing my brain to not get writers block while writing this mini-series, so I’ve actively been doing a lot of exercises to preemptively avoid my worst enemy. One of my favorite things to do is to ask questions about the story, then answer them. Doing so makes my creative muscle think outside the box, answer these questions, and add to the story. So far, this question exercise has not only brought me out of a hurdle I was stumped on already, but it brought a completely new character into the fold that I can’t wait to work with more.

It seems like it’s more difficult than the age old advice for anyone who says “I want to start writing a story, where do I start?”. It really is as simple as “Just start writing.” You’d be amazed where your mind takes you if you just let it. I know I have been pleasantly surprised recently! Writing is something that is very dear to me – when I was younger, my entire childhood, I said I was going to be a writer when I grew up. So I am so happy that I have found mediums that allow me to write in the formats I feel comfortable writing in. One day, maybe I’ll tackle writing a novel, but as of now I’m sticking with lyrics and radio plays 😀

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

1 thought on “Stretching Your Creative Muscle”

Leave a Reply

