Writing Short – My Fate: Atropos

Prompt: I can’t believe I still have this on my computer, but years and years ago I had this story concept that was going to revolve around the 3 Fates of Greek Mythology. The concept was that, the trio started human and this story was supposed to be how they got damned to Hades to be the Fates. I only got this section done before completely scrapping the idea, because I hadn’t plotted it out to a degree that I could successfully complete the story, but I may revisit this idea as a radioplay script one day! I forgot how long ago this was – but I want to say it was 2007 or 2008 that I wrote this.

Without further ado, here’s the short! This section was going to be from Atropos point of view.

Prompt: I can’t believe I still have this on my computer, but years and years ago I had this story concept that was going to revolve around the 3 Fates of Greek Mythology. The concept was that, the trio started human and this story was supposed to be how they got damned to Hades to be the Fates. I only got this section done before completely scrapping the idea, because I hadn’t plotted it out to a degree that I could successfully complete the story, but I may revisit this idea as a radioplay script one day! I forgot how long ago this was – but I want to say it was 2007 or 2008 that I wrote this.

Without further ado, here’s the short! This section was going to be from Atropos point of view.

I:I:I:I:I:I:
Fate.

This word has plagued me for centuries. I am one who loathes it, unlike my fellow man. Those others believe that fate is destiny, that it is unchanging. I spat on those who worshiped such a theory. What would the existence of mortals be if their lives were predetermined by the Gods.

If fate was not just a concept, not a foolish notion then I cared not. Even if fate was in play, it would not plague me. Those who wished to challenge me with such harassy would pay dearly for their mistakes. No one would dare decide my destiny, or challenge the fact that I was not in agreement with the peasants who wandered Athens aimlessly. I would not be challenged by anyone, not even the Gods.

I was filled with pride. My heart would not weaver with its beliefs. It also would not allow others to speak illy of them. If anyone dared cross me, I would strike them down with the power bestowed upon me by Hecate. It was this pride, this foolishness that gave me immortality. Many believe that this is a blessing; therefore, I wish to spit on them once more. My immortality is nothing but a curse. My pride cost me freedom. Now I am doomed to reside in the birthplace of fire.

My tale is not a tragic one. The consequences of my mortal actions were great, but necessary. Such a man did not deserve to live. I enjoyed watching his life, his entire world be destroyed simply by poisoning the mind of another. Unfortunately, the Gods were watching; and thus, I was damned to this fate.

Perhaps you should enjoy the tale of my banishment. I suppose I shall tell you if simply to retain my sanity. My tale begins, on a warm summer day in Athens.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

