Travel Whiplash

I’ve been back home for 2 days and I have just like, been so so so tired. I’m hoping it’ll go away soon, but it’s just so strange: it hit me so suddenly! I was fine while traveling, voice, body, brain all ok. But as soon as I get home, I crash. Wake up the next day and throat is all scratchy and icky and I try to sing and bleeeh it just does not turn out good. So I figured the day after traveling was no big deal, on Thursday, it’ll be fine! But nope – my throat still feels icky, and I have been trying all of the remedies and stuff I know to fix it. I decided to just practice today (I didn’t yesterday) and see if that helped me get back into the singing groove, and it did in a way – my throat felt less tense and strained mid-way through practice, so I’m hoping tomorrow it’ll be ok. After singing, I had some of my vocal tea and that helped a little too.

I was planning to do a certain cover for Halloween, but I think if that doesn’t work out tonight or tomorrow, I’ll release a track I’ve been working on that’s more on the eerie side. That is, if I get the demos for it done lol. I just want this post travel funk to go away, I really don’t like it!

Do you have any tips for getting out of a meh phase after a long trip away from home? I’d love any advice I can get!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

