My First Pro recording Studio Experience

So along with my DIY Musician Convention experience in Chicago, I got to use a recording studio for the first time! A friend of mine goes to an arts school, and said if I was ever in the area, I could use the recording studio. So of course I took her up on the offer because hey a free professional studio to use? I’m all over dat! So after the setup of the studio, we were ready to go!

First thing that I was like whoaaa this is so cool to was the fact that you had monitoring headphones on, and could hear the engineer from the other end. I know that’s probably a given for people who have used a studio before, and I was expecting it, but actually using the process to record was really interesting! There was 0 latency when listening to myself, and hearing my tracks – and although that took a while to get used to also, it didn’t take long to get in the swing of hearing my tracks and recording along to them.

I was using 2 mics to record at the same time, too – which was so cool! It’s definitely something I want to replicate in my home studio. I was planning to upgrade my preamp and get another mic anyways, but seeing how nice it was to not have to record a toooon of tracks to get said ton of tracks – record twice, and get four tracks worth of layers to play with – I could just see how streamlined my workflow could get with a 2 channel preamp and another mic. And dang, that mic quality! I got to sing on a 5000 dollar mic, routed into a 7500 dollar preamp, and hoo boy I wish I could afford both because I loved the resulting sound. I am so excited to hear the final mix of what I did there!

Using a pro studio for the first time was one of those eye-opening experiences. Like, one of those “Is this something I’d want to do for the rest of my life?” type of moments, and my answer was yes. I love to sing, and hearing myself on pro audio equipment was an experience I won’t soon forget. So happy I got the opportunity, and can’t wait to use a studio again!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

