Gotta Do You

I believe I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve always had a chronic struggle with wanting to post songs I love to sing, and posting songs that I think people want to hear. Well, recently, after the DIY Musicians Conference, I just decided to start posting songs I like to sing, love to arrange, and want to share. And, turns out, that makes me a lot happier, and I get more views that way as well! Which I wasn’t expecting: Though, I’m not sure if I am really getting more views, or if I am just happier with my content now because they are all songs I love, and this is the content I’ve been wanting to produce.
It got me thinking, though: So many people struggle with this, just in life in general. People are afraid to do a certain thing because of what others will think, or they don’t take a certain step in their career out of fear. But, I realized, None of that matters. At the end of the day, gotta do you, do what you know you’re going to be happy with, produce things that you know you can look back on and say “Yes, I am proud of this” even if it does have minor imperfections, or things you’d like to fix down the road. I think that in the creative field especially, when you release something that you had fun doing, or are passionate about, it attracts more people to your work and really shows through. Right now, I’m working on video game covers, singing Celtic songs, posting originals, and I couldn’t be happier. I know 2015 isn’t over yet, but I think right now my singing career is on the brink of evolving into…something, not quite sure what it is yet 😄 but I’m just really getting this great creative flow and really good vibes from everything I’ve been doing lately, and it feels great. I want to keep this momentum up all the way through next year, and onward!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

