Writing Hitch Revealed!

So yesterday I was super busy with recording and writing and editing scripts, and I totally forgot about posting something. Well, I forgot in my usual “I remembered then got occupied with other things and then forgot again until midnight so it really doesn’t matter if I post now or later tomorrow” way 😄 It’s been a good busy, though. Have lots of things in the works right now that I am completing. One of those things, is another radio play I’ve been working on writing this year. I had writers block with it for the longest time, but when I looked at my original plot outlines and brainstorms, I realized why. I made a derp!

 

The major thing that I was having issues with, was the climax of my story. I have written up to a certain point and really wasn’t liking what I had in the middle sections of the plot (episode 3, and the end of episode 2) I kept on trying to think of like, why what I had written down wasn’t segwaying to the climax, and end result that I wanted. I tried to work out the sequence of events in my head from the point I had written to thus far, tried to brainstorm what could get my characters from the point they are at to where I want them to go and absolutely nothing I could think of was working. I thought, “What the heck? I plotted this out before hand, so why is this just hitting a brick wall”. Look at my original outline and all was clear. I had an entirely different sequence of events planned out that made far more sense in getting my characters to where I wanted them to go plot-wise that I had completely forgotten while writing. Now things were making sense! No wonder it was so hard for me to get them to that point, because I had another idea in mind that I completely nixed! So now, I need to re-read, and re-write what I need to so I can continue on in the story. Kind of bummed that it took me so long to figure it out (it’s been months) but also glad that I just randomly went and read my plot outlines due to boredom. I usually just write outlines down so it sticks better in my head, but now I realize re-reading them is a must also. After I finish editing and sending out the next Terris Magic Script, I am excited to getting back to writing this new one! I really want to produce both at the same time, since Terris Magic will not be done until the middle or end of next year more than likely, but for now…I’ll just focus on finishing the first draft of this story. Am glad to be writing again, though. Always something I enjoy.

 

How do you plot your stories? Would love to hear what other writers do to finish their work!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

