Oh Where, oh where has my inspiration gone?

I was super busy today with Christmas stuff – I helped my Mom bake Christmas cookies from scratch, which was something I wanted to get off of my bucket list, so woo! It was tons of fun, and I definitely plan to do baking again – it just opened my eyes to how easy it was to bake things, which is something I have always been interested in. It’s like creative art you can eat! It wasn’t one of my resolutions, but I suppose I can mark it off as another goal I’ve been wanting to do for a while I’ve accomplished 😄 but that’s not what I wanted to talk about, my resolutions post will come closer to the New Year.

 

I’ve been in somewhat of a motivational rut with writing songs lately. I know the type of stuff I want to write, no question: I want to write stories that take people to another world. Fantasy themed, ethereal, atmospheric songs that can take you to another place. Songs that have stories, and meaning, and heart to them that also capture that high fantasy, magical vibe I love from Celtic and New Age music. But I also want them to be relatable, and things people want to listen to. This last part, is what has stumped me. How do you write music like this that people want to listen to? How do you get inspiration to write music like this?
I found out recently that it isn’t some magical answer. You draw inspiration from music you listen to. I was listening to this great fantasy track on YouTube that really just inspired me. It had all of these ideas going in my head like “Oo, I can write about this!” had me feeling all these different feelings I wanted to put down on paper. I…didn’t, which is my bad 😄 but listening to that one track just really got me inspired to get back to the drawing (or writing) board and get cracking on new tunes for 2016. I do have to still work on my album for next year, after all! I really want to get more focused on writing stuff again after I’m done with all of these projects I’ve got to finish, I’ll get back to working on my original stuff. I know it’s been said before, but I guess I didn’t realize how much listening to music that inspires you can keep you motivated as well.

 

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

