2015 New Years Resolution Retrospect

Every end of the year I make resolutions that aren’t the usual “I want to lose weight, I need to exercise more” because I find those resolutions to be ones that you’re going to forget to do, or drop off of doing super easily because your heart is never super into it. Instead, I make yearly goals: things that will help me better myself both in my careers and hobbies, may it be doing something in said hobby/craft, or buying something to help me with it as well. I don’t look at my list until the end of the coming year, and then when I do I check off everything that I did from the list, carry over what I didn’t do that I still want to do, or retool things I still want to do but have a different perspective on.

 

I found my list from 2014 to be filled with a lot of accomplishments! It always surprises me some of the things that are on the list, and that nag at me throughout the year. For example: I have learning piano and buying a keyboard on here, and buying and learning an ocarina as well on here and both are things I have been a little obsessive about getting (ask any of my friends, they are probably tired of hearing me talk about both XD) others, were things that I wasn’t expecting doing, but did anyways – like writing original songs this year with the limited resources I had. Another surprising one I didn’t think I’d pull off is going to Chicago after the fire I had in my apartment last January – my funds were limited, so I’m pleasantly surprised that happened! The other things that I didn’t accomplish that were money based I am not too surprised about, because I had to stay in a hotel for the first half of the year, and then save to move to a new place the 2nd half of the year and my family are just now getting financially secure, so I just plan to move things to next year in those regards or completely nix them (I don’t really need ProTools just yet, or a Macbook). And, the big one which seems a little unrealistic after writing my own stuff now, is coming out with 2 albums in 2015 – which, may have been possible if not for all the hardships, but still a bit overboard – so for 2016’s goals I’ve streamlined releasing music to more easy to hit goals. But, without further ado, here’s my resolution list from 2014 for 2015! Things with 2 stars next to them were goals I accomplished:

 

**Visit my friend in Chicagoooo!

Self-produce 2 albums (one can be an EP, but I’d like to have 2 out by the end of next year)

Learn to play piano

Buy said piano/keyboard lolol

**Write at least one song, start working on an album of original songs (can carry over to 2016)

**Finish Terris Magic then start producing it.

Produce a one shot radio play

**Start auditioning for voice over stuff.

**make a portable isolation booth for mic or buy one (counting cuz I made the pillow fort iso booth and use it regularly)

**Buy a desktop mic stand.

Do another concert – possibly two, self produced grassroots ones.

Get more, higher paying gigs

**learn to mix full music and mix music better

Get a mac

Get protools

**get a ipod and speaker system (counting it because I got the Tailgater)

Get a shure SM58

** Start building my makeup collection

Get an ocarina

Learn to play an ocarina

Get some sort of drum…thing to work with for composing songs

 

  • I love that getting a drum or percussion instrument is on there too since I’ve been looking into those as well XD but yeah, that was my list from last year, and I finished half of it! Not too shabby if I do say so myself, and that is usually the norm for my resolutions: I finish half, then carry over the rest to the next year. Like I said a few of those have been fine tuned to be a bit more specific for 2016, and I’ll post those on Thursday! It’ll be fun to see what happens by the end of 2016. Given all the crap that happened to me this year, I’m pleasantly surprised that I accomplished as much as I did. Am so excited for this year to be over, and to start fresh in 2016!

Do you have resolutions? Post them in the comments! I’d love to see where we all wind up with our goals by the end of 2016!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

