2015 Year in Review and 2016 New Year’s Resolutions

My 2015 has been rocky – it started with a fire in my apartment that forced me to move into a hotel for six months and go into a decent amount of debt. Second half of the year, I moved into a house and had to catch up with bills and just now am getting on my feet. I gotta say: If not for that mishap in the beginning of the year, I would have never done a lot of stuff I did this year. Having that fire put things in major perspective, and after I moved I just decided I didn’t want to live my life wondering what would happen if I did ___. Instead, I wanted to do things I was always afraid of doing, take chances, and take risks. Stand up for my beliefs and for what I wanted to do in life. I know I touched on this in my post on Tuesday, but I guess just listing everything I did this year in spite of all of the difficulties really made me realize how far I’ve come as a person! I went to Chicago to record in a pro studio, I went to a music convention and actually talked to people without being nervous about it! Huge step for me. And I started writing my own music, and not being afraid of the fact that I can’t use virtual instruments or real instruments to compose. I realized how easy it was to write something, and grew as a mixer and an artist, and I want that to continue on into 2016. My theme for next year is going to be music, risk taking, creativity, and just being happy with myself: I started doing that this year, but I really want to follow through with it full force in 2016!

 

My resolutions for 2016 are all creatively themed pretty much lol. I want to post them all here, and see what I accomplish next year. Without further ado: My resolutions for 2016!

 

– Get my first single track on Loudr and bandcamp by February

– Finish recording the Mana Aeliria theme song by February, latest by March.

– Learn at least 1 cord on the guitar XD but I want to shoot for 3!

– Buy an ocarina, and start learning how to play it.

– Buy a keyboard, and start learning how to play it.

– Start composing music with instruments, instead of just with acappella

– Learn what it takes to make a fuller a cappella mix of a song

– Learn how to master tracks and try to with the ones I have atm.

– Start releasing the tracks I’ve been writing, as singles. Release a full album by the end of the year.

– Find an artist to do cover art for singles, albums, and other things I need (banner for YouTube, things like that)

– Pay for some hosting space and make a new version of my crystaldennismusic website. Preferably on bluehost with wordpress engine.

– Get a better camera so I can start filming youTube vids of me singing and vlogs.

– Finish Terris Magic.

– Finish new story I started, and start producing it.

– Get percussion instruments (jingle rings, bodhran or other type of drum for folk/Celtic/medieval sound

– Join Bandcamp, post songs on Loudr.

– Get a higher YouTube subscriber count

– Keep on posting on YouTube all year!

– Start doing live gigs again, and street performing

– Keep on writing original songs

– Finally make a track for my Terra Lyrics I have haha.

– Buy a 2 channel preamp, and a microphone as well – ideally, get 2: another condenser, and a dynamic

– Keep on building my home studio with the stuff channels say to buy (keyboard, mics, computer, headphones)

– Overall just keep on building my craft in music and my internet presence

– Don’t slack on the blog!

– Start making jewelry again: buy a chasing hammer, wire looping pliers, and a nylon jaw plier.

– Get some 24 and 20 GA wire.

– Sell jewelry! Repurpose current pieces if need be to sell.

– Start working on wire work jewelry and with crystal clay since those are the 2 things I am most interested in. Also bead weaving and that metal engraving thing.

– Keep on writing stories, lyrics, start writing fanfiction again and just keep writing stuff.

– Stay creative! Don’t let that creative bone die.

– Spend at least one day a week off skype, and use that time to create stuff on the computer (or off lol)

– Pay off credit card

– Bake more because it’s super fun

 

I hope everyone has a lovely New Year’s Eve, and may 2016 bring you prosperity and joy!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

