Creating a Source of Inspiration – Fantasy World Building

Tuesday was a busy day for me, and that’s why there was no post that day. So today will be two posts, as I tend to do when I have busy Tuesdays haha.

 

So I’ve been thinking about doing this for a while, because of the type of music I like to write. I really like fantasy stuff, and storytelling, but it’s hard for me to come up with ideas on the fly – I really need a good source of inspiration, which is hard to find. And when I do find it, it’s hard for me to pin point the exact idea I want to put forth – it’s always something abstract, a feeling, or some phrases I want to get across and turn into a song.

 

But then one day, it hit me: Why not create a world, with character types, and an overall world with its own hierarchy, political base and the like? It’s what I do for stories I write, so why not do it for the songs I write? I thought this was an off the wall idea, until I saw a YouTuber I follow say they did the same for their music! They write video game music, and in one of the recent descriptions of their original tracks, they said it was part of the JRPG they were creating in their head. Nothing specific, but they had a vibe and area of the game they wanted the track to take place in. This totally gave me the push to actually create my fantasy world to build my songs in. I don’t plan to do eeeevery song in this world – I still like using myths, legends, and gods and goddesses from this world for some inspiration too, but having my own fantasy world as a basis for inspiration is worth a shot, right?

 

 

So time for me to start working on a new world for my songs! I’m pretty excited for it honestly, for the same reasons I get really excited for writing a story in a new setting – the adventure of molding something out of nothing. Going to be loads of creative fun!

 

I’ll keep you guys updated on how this goes, and may post little blurbs about my progress, and my world’s sections/areas from time to time.

 

How about you? Do you have any tricks for creating music, or any other form of art?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Creating a Source of Inspiration – Fantasy World Building”

  1. Lovely idea.

    As for where I get inspiration… honestly, I just pick a prompt. Any prompt. And try to write something. Inevitably, my brain will make it something I care about… even if that means basically starting at, but then totally deviating from the prompt 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

