Scheduling is Glorious!

I’ve been reading a lot of articles on tips about doing a DIY music career lately, and along with my YouTube singers I follow, I found this tip. Well, not so much a tip, as more of an epiphany. In the Singers vlog, they mentioned singing every day and then followed up by going “I mean, why wouldn’t you want to sing every day?” and I thought…”Why wouldn’t I, this is true!”.
I practice every day, but singing a song every day and recording is something I haven’t done in a while. This week, due to having a few projects due by the end of the month, and needing to record for my channel, I have been recording and singing songs every day of the week. I usually talk myself out of doing so with lame excuses like “Ugh, I don’t want to setup my equipment” “Ugh, it’s too cold tonight: I’ll do it tomorrow!” “Blerg so tired…”. This week I just buckled down on mmyself and sang, and man what a blast I was having! It rekindled my joy for the craft, and though lately I’ve felt a little unmotivated and burnt out, just singing songs every day of the week has really pulled me out of that mind set. Actually, just scheduling in general has really gotten me out of that mindset: I wrote a lot on Saturday, and recorded some demos on Saturday as well, and I think I’m going to continue having Saturday writing days because it really got my juices going creatively!

 

I always say I’m going to schedule myself for doing stuff, but then I schedule and then don’t do the things I say I’m going to do. This year, I really want to keep my momentum going, so am going to make a conscious effort to stick to the schedule that I’ve set for myself. Here’s hoping I stick with this creative momentum!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

