Silence is Golden

On Friday afternoon at about 4 PM, this repair man was fixing the lights for our neighbors. The fixtures to fix their lights are on the same pole as our internet cables, and for some reason the guy derpily completely wrecked our cords and it took them three days to fix. Now, don’t get me wrong, I was super pissed about this, but since I didn’t have any internet, aka no outside means to distract me, I did so much this weekend!

 

I mixed almost all of Terris Magic episode 4, worked out a new design for a wire work pendant that I thought of in the same weekend, finished writing the 2nd episode of the other radioplay I’m currently in writing stages with, outlined the rest of that radioplay plot-wise, and edited the raw files for the Mana Aeliria theme that I had to get to the developers. I was shocked at how much I got done when my brain had time to think, without any other distractions! It was like my creative brain was on overdrive, and my productivity just shot up by 100 percent.

 

This made me realize how important it is to not only have time to cultivate ideas, but also have time to execute these ideas. I was super annoyed that my internet was gone, but I was also super happy to just have entire days to myself where I was creating. I know I had spending more time offline as one of my resolutions, but I hadn’t tried doing so until I was forced to. I’m not sure if I will continue taking a few days off of the internet to create, design, and work on things without distractions, but I’m glad I did just that, even if I’ll only be doing it this one time.

 

Have you ever done this before? Just taking time for yourself, stepping away from all the digital distractions, and creating? How did it go for you?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

1 thought on “Silence is Golden”

Leave a Reply

