Discovering, and Taking Steps Towards my Unique Musical Style

Something you usually use in fashion, but can be applied to other things as well. I see it all the time in crafting, and in music, and musically it’s been something I’ve been contemplating and researching for a while. Also, I’ve been figuring it out through some good old fashion experimentation!

 

I think I finally figured out what my musical style is. Sure, I sing Celtic music, and sing video game covers, but that doesn’t say very much about what I like to do for my original stuff. I started doing the a Capella style acoustic sounding music for them, simply because it’s what I had available to me at the time – but now, I realize it’s something I really enjoy doing, and have started incorporating it into my style. At one time, I was like “Ugh this doesn’t sound like a full fledged song at all” but now, I really like the simplistic, yet intricate sound I can convey with only my voice and making different sounds with it.

 

I’ve also been doing some research on the types of instruments I want to use for the type of music I love to create. Which, for me, is medieval sounding, fantasy-esk, Celtic folk music that tells a story. I gotta say, looking up all the different medieval musical styles has been really fun and interesting! A few things I found out, that I didn’t know before: Back in the day, they only used 3 to four types of instruments. Woodwinds, percussion, and strings. That was really eye-opening to me! I always thought that you needed a ton of instruments to make something substantial, but seeing that, and knowing that this is the type of music I love creating, was a huge…hmm, not relief, but really…therapeutic to me? Like I have wanted an ocarina, and tambourine for quite some time, and seeing that those are two instruments that were used in the Renaissance era (aka the era I love the most music wise) was just really cool. I was so happy to see that the music style I want to dedicate my time to creating had the instruments that I really wanted to learn to play, as well.

 

Next on my list, was to find a string instrument that I could either use a synth for, or also learn with minimal effort. Of course, perfecting it is another story, but I have wanted to learn a string instrument I was passionate about learning for a while – years ago I bought a guitar, but looking back on that purchase, I didn’t want to learn that specific instrument. I really just bought it because I was trying to book gigs and everyone I contacted was like “Well you need to be able to play a live instrument” so I was like guitar bam! Then never learned to play it and it’s just sitting around my house XD
But anyway, long tangent aside, I found this really cool harp called a zither! I love the sound it produces, and I love how you play it. Instead of having to hold down strings on frets or something, all the strings are laid out and you pluck them and they produce whatever tone you’ve tuned it to. And buying one to learn is generally inexpensive, so yay! But until then (I’d like to dedicate time to learning the ocarina first) I will just use a harp synth I have on my computer, that doesn’t sound perfect, but gets the job done.
Eventually, I’d like to get a hand drum too, but once again a bit later down the line. I love percussion instruments though, so I am really excited to get one and get jamming!

 

And all of that combined with my voice creates…my style! Well, it will once I learn to play, and acquire said instruments haha. But I guess I’m just glad I figured out the type of sound I’m going for, and can work towards perfecting that, and making it the best I can. Watch out 2016: Crystal as a one woman band will be coming your way, I’m determined to make it happen!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

4 thoughts on “Discovering, and Taking Steps Towards my Unique Musical Style”

  1. Creating your own music is something completely different and unique…I find it more enjoyable writing and performing my own songs that no one knows than play covers…unless I make the cover really random and different from the original…tis all good craic!

    Like

    1. Couldn’t agree more! I’ve been making my own for about six months now and it’s so much fun crafting something from the ground up. I really want to start doing that with covers too – so far, I just do them a Capella but really want to learn how to play something I can grasp so I can work on making songs as good as they can be 🙂 have to get the the point where I wouldn’t be nervous performing them ive, so cool you can do that!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

