Late Night Epiphany

Let’s talk about how stupid I am, shall we?

 

It’s 2 AM and I can’t sleep, so I decide to go check my YouTube channel’s stats and analytics. Nothing out of the ordinary: I scroll down my channel main page, and get down to the area where it shows popular uploads of mine. I see this section displaying the same videos every time I scroll down to this section, mind you, but this time, something clicked that I hadn’t noticed before.

 

Every video, other than a few exceptions, that has 50 to 100 or more views…is a live performance video.

 

Why did I not notice this before? I feel like such a derp! Here I am, just wracking my brain on how to make my channel stand out more, and get more views, complaining about why so and so has more views than me, all the while posting static picture videos with my covers! Debating with myself about whether or not my format of video is ok, and asking so many different people for advice on whether I should record myself singing only to get a resounding “Yes”, and for my brain to go “But I used to just post like this on YouTube in 2008, it should still work! Plenty of other people do it!”.

 

And the funny thing is, looking at my analytics, looking at my channel views and growth over the past month or so, my channel views have been going up steadily, and I’ve had high audience retention rates! And this was with a static picture video! Can you imagine how much easier my growth would come if I started filming live videos and vlogs and stuff? I feel like such an idiot for not realizing this sooner! I mean, I planned to start doing so next month, but still! If only I had started sometime last year! Why couldn’t I have this epiphany sooner!? I’m guessing I didn’t realize it until now because I wasn’t taking YouTube channel growth, and making my channel a quality channel as seriously as I am starting to now but…STIIIIILL!

 

Oh well, I guess nothing to really do other than what I’m going to be doing: Upgrading my equipment so I can do what I’ve been wanting to do since I started my channel. Record cover videos and vlog. Just…ugh, I could kick myself for not realizing this was my major hurdle waaaay sooner! Live and learn, I suppose 😄

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

