A Lesson Learned, Never Give up!

Sometimes, it’s hard for me to bridge the gap between singing as a hobby and singing professionally. I sang for fun for a really long time, and did so online, but now my goal is to post things online to build my career, sell songs through distribution means and build a fanbase via YouTube, Sound Cloud, and any other online avenues. Working towards this goal is a recent thing I’ve started, and until today I realize I was still treating it like I was doing singing as a hobby. I wasn’t being persistent in certain areas of getting things done, and was afraid to even reach out to people or push myself to reach out more than once.

 

There are two things I’ve been looking for that I just can’t do on my own: Getting album art done for my singles, and getting instrumentals done for covers and original tracks of mine I’ve wanted to do. I found someone for the music side of this a while back, but was really nervous about contacting them because I knew I wouldn’t be able to afford their services right away. But I wanted to know what I was in for, and after seeing one of their tracks used by another YouTuber (and a lot of others) I bit the bullet and contacted them, just to get a connection established. I got their prices, and a really nice interaction with them! And although I will not be using their services right away, I know I will in the future when I can afford them. After that, I decided “Oh, that wasn’t that hard, let me contact this person I tried contacting before!”

 

A friend of mine recommended an artist to me a few weeks ago that I really liked their work. I tried to contact them via the contact form on their site, and I didn’t get a response. Normally, I’d let it go because rejection AHHH they didn’t want to work with me sob sob but after contacting the composer and getting a pleasant interaction, I decided to contact them in another way because maybe they didn’t get my message through their contact form. I went back to their site and got their email address and messaged them again, and low and behold that was exactly it: my message didn’t get through to them via their contact form on their site. I’m so glad I didn’t just give up on contacting them, because I was a really huge fan of their art style!

 

So now, I went from having no contact with an artist or composer, to having a composer and an artist I can go to. I’m currently in the process of talking to the artist, and showing them the style I’d like for my art. I’m super excited, and so happy that even though it took me a while to muster up the courage to reach out to these people, that now I have contacts in both fields that I can work with in the future.

 

I don’t know, I guess today, it just sort of clicked more than usual: I’m not doing this as a hobby anymore, I’m working at it as my career and I need to push myself to do things to further my goals and desires in this career. Now I finally feel like I can push myself forward, and build on making my singing what I really want it to be, instead of staying in this stagnant place I feel like I’ve been recently. I can only get better from this point on, I know it!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

