My First Wire Wrapped Gemstone!

I haven’t talked about it much recently, but I’ve been working on jewelry making again. Before, I was trying to work on chain mail, and realized I really don’t like it at all haha. I went on the search for different stuff to try again, and started doing wire work.

 

It’s right up my alley! You can either do free form stuff, which is my personal favorite, or you can follow a tutorial or learn different techniques to put together. Today, I was working on wrapping a gemstone in a certain style, where instead of having to measure out all the different wire, and wrap, you just make a wire form and do free form wrapping around the gemstone. I know that style has a name, but I can’t think of it right now. If you know what it is, comment below!

 

Initially, I wanted to try and do a different design: One with some braided wire, and some beads across the stone. But the stone was smaller than I remembered it being, so I thought I’d just try this technique instead. I love silver and blue as a color combo also, so I really like that I got to have a silver vein effect over the stone.

 

I don’t know what type of stone this is (also if you know that comment below) I just found it and asked my Mom if I could use it and she said ok. I apologize that…I’m in the picture and look like such a hot mess 😄 I just really wanted to show this off, I was pretty proud with how it came out! I may make a chain for it too, but not sure what kind. Could only get the front of the pendant, because for the life of me I couldn’t get the back in the frame and after multiple attempts of taking an approximate, showing it to a sighted person and it not being in frame I gave up XDD
But yeah, here’s my first wire wrapped cabochon!

 

 

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

