Just Relaxing

This morning, I did something I haven’t done in a long time.
I used to just lay in bed for a while when I woke up.  I’ve always liked to do that, and think up different ideas and stories in my head:  Different characters, different plot lines, different fantasy settings.  Just things like that to keep my mind going, because let’s face it my mind is always working, right up to when I sleep 😄 whenever I day dream, or tune out during the day, my brain continues the ongoing plot that is currently in motion in the morning.  When I get bored of one, or get one to its completion I hop to another one, or go back to an old one I’ve missed or something like that.  I cycle through the same set of core characters too, and add new ones, throw in some old ones, or some reeeeally old ones haha.  Honestly, it’s probably my favorite thing to do, other than writing down stories and songs (that I realize are probably brought on from these ongoing stories in my brain) it’s just really relaxing, really motivating, and something I’ve done for as long as I can remember.

 

Recently, I’ve been doing it less and less.  When I wake up, I go online, check my Facebook, my Twitter, my email, my forums etc etc.  By the time I’m done, I have about an hour or less of my lying in bed time to actually create in these worlds I’ve created.  This morning, I was just so dang tired, that I decided not to log onto the internet and just spent the time doing what I used to do.

 

And uuuugh it was sooo relaxing!  I didn’t realize how much I missed doing this until I did it this morning.  When I didn’t do it in the morning, I’d do it at night:  But even then, recently I’ve been watching a ton of YouTube videos to “destress” my brain from the day.  But I didn’t do that last night either and I think I’ve had the best sleep I’ve had in months lol.
So yeah, I didn’t notice how over taxed and over stressed I was making my brain be just from not doing this one simple thing I used to do.  I feel like doing so much today, and don’t have that “Ugh, I have to do what now?” feeling I usually have.  Definitely going to start doing this more frequently again, I’ve missed it so much!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

