Your Lie in April Poetry Piece

A few weeks back, I watched this anime called Your Lie In April.  I heard some good things about it, and had a friend voicing a character in it, so I figured I’d give it a watch.  It’s about musicians, the relationships they have, and how music brings people together and it was such an amazing watch:  I don’t know why, maybe it was the subject matter, but I haven’t had an anime affect me so much in years!  I’m not a crier, but man it had me bawling like a baby at the end of the last episode:  It’s just such a beautiful story, and if you like anime, some good drama, and some awesome classical music, I’d suggest giving it a watch on Netflix.

 

Like I said, I have never had an anime touch me in such a way.  It’s just such a beautiful story, such great characters, and at the show’s end I had so many feels about it that I wrote down some poetry right after episode 24 finished.  I was hoping to make it a song, but I really don’t see that happening because honestly I like how raw it sounds as is and don’t really want to tweak it to make sense in a lyrical way, so figured I’d just share it here.  So without further ado, here is my Your Lie in April themed poetry!

 

My heart beats in rhythm with yours,

I hear your breath, in tandem with mine.

We work towards the same goal,

We share a life that others would not.

 

The melody of life,

Shines right through your eyes.

Simple gestures that once were common,

Shine to life inside.

I hear the echoes of the sea,

I feel the wind roar.

It cradles all I hold so dear,

Encircles me, takes away the aches,

The pains of my reality,

The pains I once knew.

Abandoned once, I thought you’d leave,

Even though you’re gone now, you aren’t really.

I can never forget you, I’ll always remember your smile.

The pain I used to know, that I knew for so long,

Just vanishes when I feel you near, when I’m with you.

And even though you’re gone, I can’t help but smile.

Because I remember everything we had, everything we did.

I remember the soft embrace of your smile, of your heart beat.

I remember everything, I remember it all…

And I journey on, I journey onto this journey that is still ours.

Because you’ll always be with me, in your heart.

I’ll never forget you.

Your memory echoes in mine.

I never forget you.  Please don’t forget me.

 

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

