Taking a Break, then getting back on the Ball

I’m taking a mini-break from recording this week (not singing, just recording) and after that, I’m going to get back to some stuff I had planned.  Like I’ve mentioned before, I’m still setting up my YouTube stuff for recording – but that should be done by the beginning of next month.  As it stands right now, I may upload another static image video tomorrow and then next month I’ll start with the recording and all that jazz!  I know I’ve been saying that all month, but this time I am cracking down and getting it done – I had my backdrop all set up yesterday, just have to get the lighting going, and then get ready to film myself and hopefully not be an awkward derp while doing so lol.

 

I’m not sure if I mentioned this before, but my album art hit a bit of a snag I’ve been trying to fix.  I’m starting to get frustrated, not gonna lie – but I’m just going to take this experience as a lesson learned, try and get it corrected, and then get my music released.  For me, there’s nothing more frustrating than asking for help:  I’m just really independent, and I know help is fine and dandy, but when you have to ask for it to do every visual thing it takes a toll on you I guess.  I’m trying to get over it, but it’s really gotten me bummed out with this whole art thing.  The art isn’t bad per see, but it just wasn’t done how I wanted it to be done, and trying to get it rectified has been a major hassle that I hope to avoid with releases in the future.  I’ve also been pushing back releasing this original music for months because of said art, so idk I guess I have just overall been really frustrated and want this to get done.  But mini-rant over:  Good news, original stuff should be released soon!

 

I also have a concept for a video game a cappella cover album in the works.  I’ve shared some tracks I’ve done here, but I thought to myself “Hey, I plan to do a few more a cappella songs anyways, so why not release a little tribute album after I’m done?”.  After my break, I’m going to start working on that to get myself back into the swing of recording and mixing haha.  I’m super excited:  I think I’m going to start with a Kirby track I’ve been dying to do, and after that, probably some Chrono Trigger!  This release is a total labor of love, and I just can’t wait to start working on the second half of it (I have four tracks done already, woo!)

 

So yeah, that’s what’s been up with me.  All in all, it’s been a topsy-turvey month of triumphs and set backs, but I’m going to keep on trucking until I get all of this sorted out.  Hope you guys’ creative endeavors are going well!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

