Asking For Help Isn’t Necessarily a Bad Thing

I always like to be in control.

 

No matter what it is, no matter how  poorly I may do at the task, I always want to be the one to do it.  I like my independence, and think that asking for help stunts that in some way.  I think that if you have to ask for help, it’s because you’re a failure at a certain task, and for me that’s inexcusable!

 

Until recently, I didn’t realize how wrong that thought process was.  I didn’t realize it, until I really wanted to start taking better pictures of my jewelry.  So I brought out my webcam, and started to fiddle with the inaccessible software I need to use for my cam.  My Mom saw me struggling and was like, “Do you want help with that?” so I sighed and went “OK”.

 

She took the picture in a third of the time it would usually take me to take a picture, hope it’s in frame, and send it to a friend on skype to see if it’s in focus.  I’ve done this for hours at a time before, and failed at trying to take a good picture:  having someone sighted do the picture taking, was a lot easier, and now I am sharing my pieces with my Facebook group, and starting a new album on Facebook for my jewelry.  I’m really happy I get to share my work, because it’s helping me grow, and stay creative as an artist.  So much so, that I’m almost out of wire XD

 

I’ve always thought asking for help was a sign of being a failure.  That if you asked for help, that meant you were weak, or not competent.  I didn’t realize, how much easier it makes my life asking for help for things I actually need help on, instead of minor, trivial things.  Being blind, you want to try and do as many things as you can on your own, and I think that partially plays into my insecurities about this:  just something I realized, and am slowly getting over (I hope).  I’m going to try and keep this going, and ask for help for other sighted things:  Like setting up recording video footage.

 

Speaking of jewelry:  I’ve been on a creative spree!  I have a few pictures of pieces I’ve done, and am working on blog posts for each because I have a lot of stories attached to them haha.  So be on the look out for some jewelry posts the next few blog days!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

