Back to Wire Weaving, My First Wire Wrapped Stone

A piece of rose quartz with silver wire wrapped around it. At the bottom, twisted wire frames the stone, while a woven wire pattern is wrapped across the stone to adorn it's faceI’ve been getting back into making jewelry recently, and have been having a blast.  I primarily work in wire work, and love how you can either do free form, or patterned designs.  A while back, I joined this Facebook group for wire wrap tips and tutorials, and it’s helped tremendously with my confidence in re-teaching myself these techniques, as well as not getting down on myself for trying (and sometimes, failing) at trying, or retrying, new things.  The technique I’ve retried recently?  Wire weaving.

 

I tried this a few years ago, when I didn’t really have any idea of what you would use wire weaving for and was like “This doesn’t really look super nice on its own” and stopped practicing it.  That, plus trying to line up the wires, keep them tight, keep them even, was a huuuge pain for me at the time.  But now, I don’t know if it’s just that I’m looking at this with a new perspective, or that I’m more patient, or have a better work space or something, but I gave it another go and did a basic weave on this piece of rose quartz I got from my brother recently!

 

Originally, I wanted to do a wire braid and wrap it around the wire this way:  But, I forgot how exactly to make a braid look well, decent, and scrapped that idea.  I knew how to weave, though, and decided to try it – after all, it is basically the same type of design element I wanted around the stone, so I figured why not?  And after a few tries, I got the hang of weaving and got the above picture.  The bottom of the stone seemed a bit empty, and I wanted three wraps around the quartz, so I decided to throw in some twisted wire in 24 gage at the bottom, and really liked how it looked!  Getting the wire secure around the stone was a pain, though:  So I went to my jewelry group, and got a great tip for securing the wire after getting it on the stone, so I didn’t have to do it all over again.  Hurray for team work!

 

So yeah:  This is the first piece I’ve done, that I actually am proud of.  I really like how it came out, and am glad that I stuck with it!  I’ll definitely be giving wire weaving another shot, and really want to get more stones to work with.  But for now, I’m off to practice braiding some wire!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Back to Wire Weaving, My First Wire Wrapped Stone”

  1. This looks good – the stone is a really pretty colour and the wrap works well. I also love working with wire – it is so cool when it works out well and is fun to do even when it doesn’t!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I was lucky – this originally was a massage wand my brother had, and it broke off into really nice pieces to wrap when it fell. One of those things that was meant to be, I suppose 😀

      I agree – With wire, you can just keep on tweaking and fixing things until it’s to your liking. The free form aspect of it is what I love most about it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

