Never Knock a Certain Form of Art

Never knock a form of art.  I have a firm belief in that.  No matter how silly it may seem to you, how odd, or whatever hang ups you may have, never knock someone’s form of expression.  I’ve seen so many people say that fanfiction writing isn’t real writing, and they are so so so wrong.  I read fanfiction more than I read books, and find them far more interesting than any book I’ve read in years.  I don’t mean the amateur, or intentionally bad ones, but the ones where you get so invested in the plot and characters, where you’re feeling gut-wrenching, visceral emotions towards a certain plot point or character.  Where the story is still affecting you all through the next day, and you can’t stop thinking about it.  Where you can replace any character from the fandom, make it an original character, and it would legit read like a stand-alone novel.

 

I love when I find gems like this:  In fact, I just finished binge reading a Sailor Moon fanfiction like that yesterday and ugh…I just can’t stop thinking about it.  I’m feeling all emotional just thinking of the ending, thinking of the implications of the world building, thinking of how the characters faired after the fact, thinking of what can, or will happen next if the author continues the story…

 

And it’s just so great.  I haven’t done this for a book…ever, actually.  But to feel this deep connection to these characters, to the authors writing, shed tears and root for someone, or genuinely dislike someone.
That is what true writing, true art is about.

 

This is why I love reading, writing fanfiction.  It’s utter perfection to me, and I don’t think I’ll ever stop.

 

Never be afraid to express yourself in whatever medium you feel the freest in.  Is it fan art?  Pick up your tablet or pen.  Fanfiction?  Write to your hearts content!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Never Knock a Certain Form of Art”

  1. The problem is what some people define as art. I’ve had people tell me that walking into various public spaces, lying down and sleeping for awhile and then leaving is art and I have to seriously question them on that. However, fanfiction and art etc I think take an enormous amount of time, dedication and creativity to do well and certainly shouldn’t be discouraged. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Like

    1. So true – I see some modern art and it baffles me how it’s considered as such. It always floors me how some people spend so much time fleshing out their world building and spending years of their lives on one story, always admirable.

      Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

