Developing my Style

I’ve been thinking about this recently, and I think I’m finally coming into my own with my style, both with music and jewelry making.  Primarily with jewelry making, because in order to start with my style in music, I need to learn how to play a keyboard XD but I do have a general idea of the two styles I want to incorporate in my music.  That isn’t what I want to talk about today though.

 

When I look at tutorials for jewelry techniques, I don’t like to copy the design at all.  I look at tutorials more for how to do a certain something, and even then I tool that certain something into a style set I like, and can understand.  So basically, I use tutorials just to see what techniques and styles are out there.  I realized, through this, is that I’m starting to develop a certain style, and it’s very exciting!  It’s the style that I’ve wanted to do ever since I started stringing beads 2 years ago.

 

I like dainty, airy looking pieces.  I love the fantasy, medieval style of jewelry, and love shiny things.  I’ll never be someone who wants to oxidize, or antique their jewelry, because I feel like that detracts from the piece.  I really love filigree, and twisted wire designs, along with weaves, and love love love the look of braided wire and Viking knit chains. I love incorporating gemstones and accent beads into the work.  And, what I also realized, is I like smaller beads!  When I first started, I had such a basic grasp of the beads I wanted.  “I need 6 MM beads, all round, no exceptions!” but now, I see the worth of having different shaped beads, and smaller sizes.  In fact:  I use smaller beads, with cabochon gemstones as the focal piece. Aka:  what I always wanted to do from the getgo, before I found out wrapping stones intricately was a thing.

 

I know I’ll be advancing in this style too:  I have metal clay, and crystal clay on my radar as things to start incorporating into my designs, and last night just figured out how to wrap smaller stones (woooo – another post on that will be coming XD).  The somewhat annoying thing about this is, now I have to upgrade my bead stash!  Because all the beads I have other than gold and silver spacers are soooo big and I just use them as accent pieces, or focals on designs.  So now I have my eye on buying a lot of seed beads in different sizes, and some dagger beads as well (love those).  Luckily, I have a ton of loose gemstones to work with already, because my entire family are gemstone collectors.  Which is perfect for me haha.

 

I’m really excited about starting to develop a style, both in my music and jewelry.  Here’s hoping it continues to evolve through the rest of 2016!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

