Tree Of Life Pendant First Go

I’ve seen people making these tree of life pendants for a few years now, and never really got the appeal.  I guess it’s because I can’t see the pictures, but I saw a pretty descriptive tutorial about one a while back, had all the materials for it, and decided to give it a go.  I wound up with this:

A circular frame with a tree made out of multiple strands of thinner wire attached to the frame's bottom. The tree trunk consists of the bundle of wires twisted together, while the branches of the tree are two wires twisted together, and seperated from one another. A crystal, and turquoise bead act as "leaves" on the 2 outer branches, while 2 leaves on the inner branches are formed with wire. One, long tree branch wraps around the back of the frame, and rests underneath the higher branches. The roots of the tree are in a zig zag pattern, for a more natural look.

Seeing one in person, I get it a bit more:  I know this one isn’t perfect, but I really like the way the trunk and leaves turn out.  That nice, thickness to the roots looks really pretty, and I think adding some wrinkles at the base of them so it looks more natural looks really nice.  Since I was working with what I had on hand, I didn’t really have properly shaped beads for it (I really think some leaf shaped chips, or maybe little flowers would look nice) but my 4 MM turquoise had to do.  Since my branches weren’t even, I just decided to do some filigree leaves on 2 of the branches since I couldn’t fit a bead on them lolol.
So yeah, I’m glad I did one just to see how it looks.  I get why people like them, it just isn’t’ my style and I don’t see myself really making any more of them in the future.  I like all the techniques used for making them, though, and might use them in other designs.  I just much prefer that medieval, Victorian style that’s more fantasy themed.  I will say, though:  I really love how the branches look when they’re finished!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Tree Of Life Pendant First Go”

  1. I always liked the idea of them more than the actual pieces. I’ve never been brave enough to try one myself probably because, like you, they’re not quite my style. I like yours, though.

    Like

    1. The idea of them is definitely more appealing to me than the end result also. I’ve seen some people start putting them on the front of stones recently too, which is an interesting take on them but yeah they just aren’t something I can really get into and make consistently – but glad to know if someone wanted one I could make it, I suppose 😄 thank you, happy to hear you like how my end result looks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

