I’ve Gotten Some New Drive

Whenever  I say I am going to start to do something, it takes me months or weeks to actually do so.  Case and point:  Recording myself on video for my YouTube channel.  I bought my camera in March, said I was going to start by the middle of March, and here we are at June and I still haven’t started recording yet.  All I’ve used my cam for is taking jewelry pictures, which is beneficial, don’t get me wrong, but it isn’t what I bought the webcam for.
There are a number of reasons as to why I haven’t started yet:  Need decent lighting, need to get a good camera setup, am not asking for help when I should, and lack of courage/having too many nerves about showing my face on camera.  But recently, I’ve gotten some new motivation and drive to just buckle down and start recording, no matter how funky I look, or how bad the video will be!

 

This is, once again, a video game cover artist Subreddit.  I found them a little while ago when I was trying to find a place to promote my videos, and ran across it.  Not gonna lie, it’s literally the only reason why I joined reddit XD I really was looking for a place with like-minded, encouraging people, who could help me grow as a YouTuber, and musician, and I think I’ve found it.  This probably isn’t the only driving force of my new found inspiration, but I know it’s certainly helped me a ton with all of my insecurities, and doubts about posting on YouTube.  I’ve also met a ton of great new acquaintance’s, that hopefully will become friends!  And I’ve gotten new drive to start up my instrument collection, and have been getting all of these ideas for the style of cover I want to start doing when I get a bit more experience under my belt.  All in all, being a part of this group has been a great experience, and I’m excited to grow and learn more while participating with them on projects.

 

This has given me some new drive.  I’ve decided, that I’m not going to try and stay on a YouTube schedule as rigidly as I have been, because that leads to a quality of video that I don’t really like.  I’m currently working on mixing a new cover, and I decided that it isn’t going up on YouTube until I have a fully recorded video to go with it.  May not have any fancy editing tricks, or snazzy quality, but it will be a step in the right direction for my channel.  Not only that, but I’ve decided to not stop myself from recording because I don’t want to ask for help:  With some gentle nudging from my family, I might add haha.  I know it’s going to be hard to do, and it’s always an issue I’m going to have to deal with.  But, if I need help shooting a video, I’ll just ask for it.  After all, what’s more important:  Swallowing pride and getting help, or getting a good quality video up?  Of course the video!

 

I’m going to force this new drive to stick with all of my projects.  I realized today, that I really enjoy doing all of the things I do, and I need to stop sabotaging myself with stupid things like not asking for help, or belittling my work by saying “Oh, it’s a cappella, it’s not really a nice arrangement because it’s all just my voice” “Oh, anyone can twist wire around a stone, my designs aren’t even original” “See!  I don’t have a lot of views because I suck (probably more because I just post static images, of course)”.

 

No more!  If I get these stupid thoughts in my head, I’m going to shove them aside and just keep going.  If I keep on working at all the things I do, and keep putting myself out there, only good things can happen, I know it!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

