Time Just Flew by Today!

Time just flew by today, and I totally thought I had already posted something and went onto doing other things.  In the middle of writing down some design brainstorms, I realized I hadn’t posted anything, oops!  So here I am hopping in to write something after working on some jewelry design ideas.

 

I’ve ran out of wire, because I’ve been making things like crazy, and I won’t be able to get anymore until next month.  It’s been driving me nuts!  I’m getting all of these ideas for jewelry projects, wire sculpture projects, and my small amount of 28 gage wire that is left is just sitting there laughing at me.  Why, even my 24 gage wire that I hardly use is almost gone, and it bums me out so hardcore that I won’t be able to make things until next month!

 

The good news is:  I’m saving up a decent chunk of money, so I can buy some new tools, some new beads, and hopefully some new cabochons to work with, as well!  I plan to buy bigger chunks of wire, so I don’t run out as quickly.  I looked at the order form from my last wire order to see what lengths I had before, and realized my 20 gage wire only had 13 feet:  way too little for me to do anything substantial with!  I was like, no wonder why I ran out so fast haha.  This time, I plan to order from parawire, because I’ve heard so many things about them, and they have waaay bigger amounts of wire to buy.  Here’s hoping I don’t run out of that super quickly, too XD.

 

To keep myself in the making mindset, I used the 28 gage wire I had to practice Viking knit.  It worked well:  although, I think I like the 26 gage Viking knits look a little better.  28 gage, I notice, looks really nice as a flat knit bracelet though.  I’m really happy I started Viking knitting flat instead of tubular, because I would have never discovered how pretty a flat Viking knit looks as a bracelet otherwise!  And, I plan to use it in other designs that I’ve been planning, once I get my big order in.

 

Also what I’ve been doing to stay in the flow, is just watch tutorials.  I’ve gotten so many ideas for things to try, just by looking at videos.  Some of the tutorials I want to try, but others, I’m just watching so I can get the technique down, and then have fun doing whatever I want with it.  I think it’s time…for me to not look at tutorials though dun dun duuuun!  Well, we’ll see when I start making things again, but I’m going to try not looking at as many tutorials, and just coming up with my own ideas, and see how that goes.  Well, maybe not stop looking at them, because I love seeing what people make, but stop following them, and coming up with my own designs.  For now I’m going to keep watching to stay motivated, and keep my creative juices flowing though!

 

That got a little rambly 😄 but I just really can’t wait to get my jewelry stuff updated, and get back to making things again!  I’ll leave you with a picture of a piece I know I won’t have enough to talk about on its own post, a wire woven pendant, my first attempt at doing one!  I hope all of your crafting is  going well!  A blue, oval shaped cabochon gemstone with silver wire framing it on the sides. There is a wire woven pattern around the sides of the stone, in thinner gage wire, while there are thicker base wires on the front and back of the stone to capture the gemstone in the setting. The entire stone face is visible, with a loop on top of the stone for hanging on a pendant chain.

 

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

