Copyright on the Internet

We live in a very strange world now, where anyone can just slap a copyright claim on any YouTube video, no questions asked.  If someone likes a picture someone drew, they can take it, and claim it as there’s.  It’s sad, and a reality that I’ve had to come to grips with as a creator, but in the age of the internet, it’s up to the creator to protect themselves.  With art and music, it’s pretty easy to distinguish copyright:  If you’ve created the piece of art, or wrote and arranged the song, it’s yours.  With covers, if you’ve arranged a version of the song, you can post it and sell it, but it still belongs to the original creator of the track.  Using pre-existing backtracks, the backtrack belongs to whoever made it, your vocals belong to you, and you can’t make any profit off of the work.  Art is even simpler:  You draw it, you own it.  Sculptures:  You mold it, it’s yours.  But what about when it comes to jewelry making?

 

I saw on one of my jewelry groups, someone talking about copyright.  They said they asked an artist if they could replicate a weave, the artist said no.  They then went to the group and started to go “Shame on you, you’re all using the weave and they said no!” to the group, because they had seen the weave being used.  But like, seriously?  I think when it comes to weaves, you can’t really claim a copyright on one.  If you created it sure, but wire weaving is hundreds of years old:  In my opinion, at least, you can’t copyright a weave, or technique.  The end result which is the design,, sure, but not the actual weave.  The person was accusing people of stealing the persons work, but I’m sure all it was, was people using the weave they saw in their own way for a design, and the person not knowing the difference.
In this sense, I feel like copyright with jewelry making, and jewelry designs, goes along the same lines as with music.  There are so many tutorials of people sharing their designs, that have terms at the end of them about whether or not you can use them, or sell them, and then there are just plain old techniques, then no, I don’t think there’s any such thing as copyright.  Imagine if everyone ran around saying “Viking knit is mine!” How crazy that would be?  It’s a technique that is widely known, and how you use it is when copyright comes in.

 

What about you:  how do you feel about copyright on the internet?  What do you do to protect your works when you post them?  Would love to read in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

3 thoughts on “Copyright on the Internet”

  1. Good questions and issues raised in your post. Sadly, there are a lot of dishonest people around and the grey areas make artists particularly vulnerable. I reserve all rights to my artwork and hope that someone will ask for permission to use it. I don’t care if someone copies a technique that I used as long as they acknowledge that. Another thing that bothers me is when a reader who has been looking at my artwork over time and must surely have seen that I have a style of doing things, asks me out of the blue if I did my work. It can be a compliment when someone thinks your work is too good for you to have done it. But as someone who’s had her work stolen before, I notice that the people who steal my work never get challenged. I’ve now resorted to keeping the receipts and creating my artwork in front of witnesses or even showing the physical work to people privately. It is so scary to think that people who steal my work can command trust and esteem.

    Like

    1. Right? It’s such a hard balance to strike: I’ve gotten a lot of copyright claims on song covers, that really should have not been hit because of fair use. I definitely think artists need to have a lot more protection, and that’s where watermarks on photos and the like help. Guess all we can do is protect ourselves as best we can and hope for the best.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good point on fair use with the song cover. That’s how Justin Bieber got famous. A former fiancé is a recording artist and I know that for a fact. People who report you are being mean spirited. These things discourage us from sharing our work. My advice? Keep citing the fair use regulations in response and say nothing else.

        Like

Leave a Reply

