Back to Jewelry Making Woooo!

Have you ever been like “Once I get all of this stuff, I will be making so many things, it’ll be great!” and you write down all of these ideas and snizzy and then when it’s time to actually do said ideas, you’re doing all of this different stuff you weren’t originally planning on doing?
Yeah, that’s me right now.  Well sort of.  I got all of my new jewelry making supplies, and have been making/finishing off some things I couldn’t.  For example, I finished off a Viking knit bracelet with my draw plate, have been making rings with my ring mandrel, and have been attempting to wrap the cabochons I got and failing rotfl.  But there are so many other things I want to do, and have to remind myself to work on.  Some wire woven bracelets, and pendants, for example.  Unfortunately, I was off on the measurements of the stones I was getting, so they’re super tiny!  I’ve been trying to wrap the biggest ones for the past few days, and the size along with the smoothness of the cab has made it impossible.  I’ve dropped it entirely too many times for me to count, and after I finish attempting it I just go to make a ring so I don’t feel like my entire night has been wasted XD
But yeah, I am so happy I got a ring mandrel!  I have been loving making rings, and figuring out how to use it.  I was so happy to find that the markings on the mandrel were embossed into the tool, so I can just count to approximate the size I want!  I’m still getting the hang of this and getting a feel for the mandrel, but so far I’ve been able to do the right measurements for my finger with this technique.  I did one that I made a bit too big though lolol but it fits my thumb decently well, so no big deal.  Oh, and I’ll get to making rings for other sizes soon enough >,>

 

I found out about ear cuffs yesterday, and was really fascinated by this new trend!  As someone who doesn’t like to re-open her ear piercings every time she wants to wear a new earring, and someone who doesn’t like clip on earrings because they hurt her ears, I figured this would be a cool new way to wear things!  So I made one today to see how it looks and…I don’t quite get the appeal?  Just feels like a decorated earbud on your ear haha.  I will say, as I wore the one I made, I slowly grew to like it as an alternative to ear wires, but if the cuff wasn’t as easy to make as it was, I probably wouldn’t bother with it.  I feel like it’s one of those pieces that have to grow on you, so I’ll probably make a few more samples and wear them and see if my first impression of “Hrmm they are alright” grows to “OK I like this as an earring alternative this is great”.

 

I only made one ear cuff so far (and it was a hoop so I felt like a pirate wearing it rotfl) but I will make another tonight, and take pictures of both soon.
On that note, I really need to start taking pictures again!  I have been slacking because of not making anything really this past month, but now that I have done like, six pieces in the last two days, probably should not slack on taking pictures of my work XD so I’ll photo bomb some collages of rings and bracelets, because they all generally have the same design, and post them here asap!  Hope all of your crafting is going well!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

