Wire Woven pendants, Some of the things I’ve been working on lately

I spent an hour trying to take a picture of these myself because I am stubborn and of course doing so failed miserably so I had my Mom take pictures and she did it in like three tries cruel world 😄 I feel I should have learned my lesson with trying to take pictures, but darn it I’m stubborn and will conquer taking pics with this webcam blind one day!

 

But anyway!  That mini rant aside.  I wanted to take some more pics of other things, but I will get to that later lol.  This pendant style is my latest obsession, and here are two variations of it:

2 circular pendants made out of wire, with a smaller weaving wire creating a pattern on the thicker frame. One has a jade bead at the top of the design, and is coiled like a snake, or snail shell, and the other has three base wires, a pyiramid style weave on the base wires, and a tear drop, blue lace agate stone wrapped in wire, and dangling from the middle of the circular frame.

Personally, I like the one with the jade bead on it a bit more:  Which, I find a little funny, because the style came about on accident.  I had woven two separate pieces with two base wires, to try and make a bracelet with both pieces.  I don’t really like to measure and eyeball things primarily (another habit I probably should get out of lol) and one piece was bigger than the other.  I figured, ok, I could make one of these the focal for the bracelet instead, and made one a coil that’s waiting in the wings for just that.  But with this one, I figured, why not coil it, and play around with it to make a pendant?  The bead was added primarily as an afterthought:  I wanted to stabilize the top wraps, and hide the weaving wires end, so stuck it there to do so.  All in all, I love the end result, and am definitely going to incorporate this pendant style in different things.
The second one was inspired by a CSL Design tutorial for an elvish wire woven pendant.  I took 3 base wires, and did a pyramid weave.  I caged a blue lace agate teardrop with 26 GA wire, and voila!  This one was a major accomplishment for me, because I had been having trouble wrapping such tiny stones, and after multiple attempts and research, figured out how to wrap this tiny bugger!  So glad I did, because I now love using tiny stones, and definitely won’t shy away from them from now on.  Now to figure out how to wrap my 4 MMs…

 

But yes, here is what I’ve been working on recently!  I need to still take pics of the loose wrapped stones, but I’ve been crazy about just using wire, and a minimal amount of stones as of late, so figured I’d share these first.  Must be the Bohemian inside of me coming out, but I just really love this style of pendant, and can’t wait to make more!  I just finished up a craftsy class on making wire frames too, and have been practicing those, so I also can’t wait to make some pendants with those frames!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

