My First Presentable Viking Knit Bracelet

I realized today that I have spoken so much about learning how to Viking knit – a weaving technique where you knit a row of loops around a pencil, or dowel, until you get your desired length, then pull the piece through a draw plate to stretch the piece to be longer.  I’ve done a lot of practice pieces, with a lot of trial and error, and honestly wasn’t too keen on sharing any of my prior pieces.  Like a major derp, when adding extra wire, I was not tucking it into the tube and wound up with all of the icky prickly extra wire  parts I had to try and fix and it just did not turn out well and was super messy.  A few days ago, I did another bracelet, and actually liked the turn out!  Here’s my end result:

 

 

A viking knit bracelet - silver wire woven to look like a fine rope, with sparkling crystals, and rose quartz beads on each end to accent the piece. A hook and eye clasp is used to fasten the bracelet.

There are a few things I really want to do differently next time when finishing off a piece.  I feel like my coils with the wire around the piece aren’t suuuper even, and I can tell one side of the bracelet is a bit thinner than the other – so I think I definitely want to make sure to either cut off the thinner part, or cover it up with the coil better so both sides look more even.  I really need to practice making bead caps, too, because I think they look kind of eh lol.  I think to fix my coiling problems, I’m going to try and use thinner gage wire next time – I was wrapping the ends with 20 gage, and thought it was a bit too rough on the Viking knit section (like it crushed the thinner side of the knit rotfl), so next time I’m going to try 22 gage and see how it works (I mean I am pretty sure it will work better 😄 I’d try 24 gage, but I currently don’t have any).

 

It took me a lot less time to do this piece than usual!  Was about a 2 to 2 and a half hour stretch to make this bracelet.  I really want to work at being able to have the patience to work long enough to make a necklace length chain, and I think if I stretched it over 2 days that definitely will be possible.  Just have to…get to doing so 😄

 

Have you ever done any Viking knit pieces?  Have any good finishing techniques?  Would love to hear about them!  I think I’m just going to keep this one for myself, because I tend to do that with the first thing I’ve made, but eventually really want to get to where I feel comfortable with other people wearing/purchasing these!

 

And now, I’m off to buy some cording supplies~ this jewelry bug has hit me hard the past few months, and I am loving every minute of it 😄

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

