Welp

I spent all day weaving a Viking knit length long enough to be a necklace.  Good news:  It only took two and a half hours for the weaving, and I figured out a lot of work arounds for different things I have been struggling with while weaving, like leaving huge gaps in certain sections, then seeing thinner bits after drawing it through the draw plate.  Bad news:  I Totally forgot about writing a blog post, because after catching up with all of my shows I started looking up what sort of necklace design to do with the finished chain XD  The last time I made a piece of Viking knit, I made it really long, but with 28 gage wire and I honestly don’t like the super thin look you get with that gage.  Just wanted to try it again, because 28 is what I practiced with when I first started, but for me I’m definitely more into the thicker look for Viking knit – mainly because, if I’m going to spend 3+ hours on making a length of chain, I want it to look like it’s more than just some thin necklace chain and actually be bulky enough to see the work put into the weave.  I’m generally more of a tactile  person, and no matter how something look, I really like being able to feel the work, so maybe that’s part of the reason too.  That’s always such a double-edged sword because I tend to feel really minor imperfection’s, that aren’t visible when I show them to my Mom to ask how it looks so…woo/boo to tactile-ness, I guess!
I was going to be like “I spent all of this time doing this so idk what to blog about today” but lookie here I think we’ve got a blog post XD

 

I am 100 percent ready to admit I am hooked on this brand of jewelry making, because even though I have a ton of beads already I’m like oh snap there are Czech glass beads I need some of those too for wire designs!  And on that note, I’m off to figure out what to do with this Viking knit necklace.  Happy crafting everybody!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

