W00TMoving in the Right Direction!

I’m soooo excited you guys!  Last night, and well, a few days ago I had this idea for a jewelry design.  I’ve seen so many tutorials on how to make a rose, and have tried the technique, and honestly I just never thought that technique for making a rose looked like the type of rose I wanted to make.  So I was determined to try and figure out how to make a 3 dimensional rose to implement in designs, that I thought looked like a legit rose, so got to work with some proto types last night.

 

It honestly didn’t take long to figure out – I had already had a general idea on how I was going to try to do it, tried that, and it didn’t work.  So after that, I did a few tests, and got the desired look I wanted!  I’m so excited to start using it not only for making roses, but I can see it working really well to make daisies, lilies, and other flowers.  It looks like it will be really easy to weave on the petals, if I really wanted to, and I have just been coming up with idea after idea on how to use it in different designs.  I’ll take some pictures of some things to post next week over the weekend, because the first thing I did, I already can see how to make the pendant look better/be more stable.  So as always, I think I’m going to just keep the first attempt I tried as a badge of honor.

 

What is more important to me is, I 100 percent figured this out on my own!  No tutorials, no looking at other people’s pieces:  I took the knowledge I had from practicing other styles of wire work, from the classes I’ve taken on craftsy, and used them all to do this.  In fact, I used something I do for Viking knitting to make the roses.  It was just a major step in the right direction for me, and boosted my confidence hardcore.  Now I feel like, I can say that this piece is a Crystal original, no questions asked, and it really plays up the nature/fantasy/chunky/lacey motif that I love to make so much when I make things (yes, I know those all sound drastically different, but I love the end result when I finish a piece XD).

 

I’ve also thought of a way to capture stones with the technique of making the petals, to make a sort what I am tentatively calling a disco ball capture XD I’m going to try it tonight and see how it goes, so wish me luck!  I can tell that this weekend will be a major photo taking one, if all of these attempts go well!

 

I’ve majorly gotten into making more wire based pieces, with cabs and beads as accent pieces.  When I use a cab, I want both it and the wire to tell a story, and I feel like I’m finally getting that across in my work.  I love doing free form, or just winging it when I work, and I feel like I’m coming into my own as far as designing is going.  Next step, will be getting the confidence to start selling pieces!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

